Morning Comes to Morgantown

Morning comes to Morgantown . . . I am visiting Morgantown this weekend to attend the WVU v. Louisville basketball and, through a bit of mediation, to go shopping with my wife in Morgantown and in Pittsburgh (my apologies to Mountaineer fans everywhere).

It turns out that I came to town on a big news day!

First, the Board of Governors announced yesterday that WVU has a new President. Dr. James P. Clements, 44, former provost of Towson University in Maryland has been selected to serve as WVU’s 23rd President. In reading the story about him in the Charleston Gazette, it sounds like Dr. Clements comes in with a “can do” attitude as my dad likes to say (a South Korean boy nicknamed my dad “#1 can do” during my dad’s service in Korea — in part because of my dad’s role as a soldier and in greater part because he played baseball with the kid). Anyway, if Dr. Clements keeps and can instill that attitude in others at WVU, as well as in its alumni throughout West Virginia, he will be great leader. Like all other Mountaineer faithful, I wish him the best.

Second, although I am here for a basketball game, I am reminded by the change to daylight savings time tonight (don’t forget to set your clocks forward an hour) that football season will soon be underway. Spring football practice begins on March 24 and the annual Gold Blue Spring game will be held on April 18, 2009. And how about this for timing. WVU announced its 2009 football schedule this morning. This year I plan to take a trip to sunny South Florida to watch the Mountaineers take on the Bulls on October 30. Other big games include the usual conference battles with Pitt and Louisville and solid non-conference games against Auburn and Colorado (looking for a little revenge in this one).

First things first. The Mountaineers need to beat Louisville tonight as a warm- up for some March Madness!!!

I will be back reporting on mediation and legal matters next week. Hope everyone enjoys their weekend. As always, to hire me as a mediator in a case, or just to learn more about my mediation practice areas, click here “Mediating with Keith Jones.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

